add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

I don't want flashy, I just want a capable machine.

Bilmuri

26 days ago

And by capable machine, I mean a cutting edge, fast PC. I am new to selecting components for computers, as well as building them. I do not need fancy towers or RGB lights or any other add-ons. For example, could I get a really plain looking GPU cheaper than the exact same GPU with fancy wiring and RGB LEDs etc? Any advice would be appreciated. I have a lot of questions!

Budget: $2000-2500 Location: Richmond, Virginia Use: Gaming, streaming, light bioinformatics programs (PhD) -- I want to be able to run ultra 4k at high FPS Peripherals: None other than a GOOD streaming Camera OS: I already have a Windows 10 copy

FIRST QUESTION - What is the word on using "Very Good" conditioned USED components? Is this okay for some components? What should I NOT get used?

Part preference so far:

GPU: RTX 2080 Ti - Only really willing to budge if someone is able to breakdown why getting a more economical card would be better. I know this may be a moronic statement for a computer hardware forum, but I want something that will age decently. I know that's a lot to ask for when it comes to chip technology--convince me! Should I get liquid cooled GPU variant? Benefits negligible or noticeable?

CPU: i7 9700k -- i9 doesn't seem all that more powerful for the dramatic price increase