add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

1st attempt at building a PC

glittercake96

2 months ago

I am a complete new beginner in building a PC. I have finished putting all the components into the case. When I turn on the power, the CPU, lights and fans turn on. When I was turning it on yesterday, the ez debug lights came on for the DRAM. I took one of the RAM sticks out. That light went away. The VGA light came on. I took the GPU out and put in back in. The light went away. Then the final light that came on was BOOT. I do have Windows 10 on a USB to try to install it cause that's my next step. (I followed all the steps to download Windows 10 to USB from youtube). Meanwhile, this whole time my monitor will cycle through all of the sources to try to find signal and finally display "no signal". Of course now, this morning turning it on, there are no EZ debug red lights on. The monitor is still displaying "no signal".

My monitor has a single hdmi cord that I plug into the back of the computer. Some people have suggested to plug that cord into the GPU? I see no way of doing that. My only thought is that I could move my USB blue cord to the other spot on the motherboard to see if that is the issue.

I do have some confusion though. My Radeon 5700 xt has pin connectors. Do I just plug in one VGA cord to those two spots on the GPU? Or do I just use two VGA cords? For the PSU, there are slot for VGA 1, VGA 2 and PERIF. I tried connecting the PERIF cord to the PSU but found that nothing else attached to that cord. So I took that cord out. So I have the GPU plugged in to VGA 1 right now.