add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Learning how CPU's work

StrallTech
  • 7 months ago

So I am a new builder to PC building, I am looking for advice and tips for what to look for when building a PC. I am wanting to learn what info I need consider when looking at a CPU. I know that there are different cores and different socket types. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• 7 months ago
  • 2 points

What CPU to get depends on budget and what you are using it for. Both AMD and Intel both have good options at different budget ranges. If you need help picking a CPU it would help if you can list what you want to use the PC for and how much you are willing to spend on the whole PC. Also if monitor/keyboard/mouse needs to fit within that budget or not.

• 7 months ago
  • 1 point

So I am looking into doing gaming, video editing, animation, streaming, and graphic design. As far as budget goes at the current moment I am looking for within a budget for my next upgrade, but I am also trying to figure out my dream build so budget is not as much of a question. I already have the mouse and keyboard I want (at least for the next while).

• 7 months ago
  • 1 point