add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Good budget monitor for rx580 (144hz or not)

Mister_Fantastic
  • 8 months ago

Been searching the web for a solid answer, but only been reading very vague responses. Im new to pc gaming and want a good monitor that’s compatible with the rx580. I am going to definitely upgrade to the 1660ti later this year, so preferably a monitor that’s compatible both GPUs (freesync). Is a 144hz monitor overkill?

I don’t stream, I’m a casual gamer, and mainly play single player, rpg games, but play multiplayer games every now and then (not hardcore multiplayer)

Comments

• 8 months ago
  • 1 point

I'm completely unsold on high refresh gaming (then again my eyes are much older than the esports set), but it seems that monitors only exist in 60Hz, 144Hz, and 244Hz, so if you want >60Hz fps you need a 144Hz monitor. Freesync is unlikely to be needed at the resolutions you are using, but probably a help for a 60Hz monitor (and shouldn't really increase the price).

I'd look first at size and resolution. A high refresh is typically only important in things like esports where knowing the position of an enemy that very millisecond becomes important, and somewhat helps when rotating quickly while whatever you are focusing on (such as an enemy player) is moving in another direction from the background (the cannonical example is the opening scene in Oblivion. As an old game, you could play it at ~30Hz, but expect the opening sequence to be jarring as the front towers moved much faster than the background [https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PGERPMvw0C0 1:25-1:40]).