add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

SSD and HDD and feedback

SamDavid357

2 months ago

Can someone please educate me on SSD and HDD? What do they have to do with speed of a computer? And why should I get a SSD over a HDD and vise versa. Ive seen a 1tb HDD corsair blue and I wondered if its any good with my 500$ budget pc. This is my first time building a pc and I need all the feedback I can get. I will be using this pc for gaming only playing fortnite apex etc.

https://pcpartpicker.com/user/SamDavid357/saved/s3mk6h

Comments

• 2 months ago
  • 1 point

SSD and HDD are storage. A HDD is a mechanical affair with moving parts reading data off platters. A SSD is a type of flash memory, no moving parts. The SSD is faster in pretty much any scenario which is pretty nice from a user experience perspective, as every time you need to read from the disk is sped up by a factor of 5-10x.

Some people seem to think the difference only matters when loading Windows, programs, or games. But I prefer to think of it as the SSD is faster any time you need to read from the disk, which happens quite a bit. So it ends up creating a much nicer user experience once you've experienced it.

SSDs are cheaper than ever, more expensive then HDDs though. But I believe we're in the twilight years of the HDD, I don't see how they can get that much cheaper and as SSDs get closer and closer in price per GB there's just no way to make HDDs compete. I'm personally never buying an HDD again, and more and more people are going to be in my camp as time goes on.