add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Want to build a computer for under $150

Kuykam01

10 months ago

I have never built my own computer and would like to do so but I am a student so funds are limited and id love some help thanks in advance!

Comments

• 10 months ago
  • 2 points

https://pcpartpicker.com/list/mbTvQZ : this is a part list i created, but is $35 over budget

if you are going to build buy that psu in the part list, as it is at a really good price right now (~$15 less than normal, and is decent enough so your pc won't blow up in your face)

and that case won't stay $19.99 for too long, as it will go up to like $26.57 or something like that sooner or later

if you get past that, you will need a) some sort of display (i.e. tv, monitor) and keyboard and mouse, in which case get this if you already don't have a keyboard or mouse: https://pcpartpicker.com/product/w7Lypg/logitech-keyboard-920002565

you will have to use linux (i reccomend the mint or ubuntu flavors), as there is no way to afford windows on this kind of budget. You will have to download these from the internet onto a flash drive, then install on your pc (once you've assembled it )

also 120 gb is really small, so if you can spare like another $10, get the 250 gb version (https://pcpartpicker.com/product/btDzK8/kingston-a400-240gb-25-solid-state-drive-sa400s37240g)

if you have any questions, i will be happy to help

: )

• 10 months ago
  • 1 point

I don't know why anyone down voted you but here is a +1. I like your attempt, that is not a bad list for the price.

• 10 months ago
  • 1 point

thanks

: )