add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Storage setup, should I add another HDD?

Theme57
  • 18 months ago

I am in the works for building a PC and am unsure if I should get another 4TB HDD when I build it or later when I run out of space as well as if I should have both drives in Raid 1.

I plan on editing videos at 1080p between 10 - 60 minutes. However, I may step into the realm of 2k later down the road. This includes files from a video capture card and camera all with files at 1080p 60pfs, I am unsure of the bitrate. I am not a professional video editor by vocation, rather, more as a side hobby.

The setup if the following:

120GB SSD for video cache 250G SATA M.2 for OS/Programs 1TB SATA M.2 for main files and games 4TB 3.5 HDD (WD Blue) for mass storage 1TB 2.5 HDD (WD Blue) for important internal backup 1TB External WD Passport for important external backup

Comments

• 18 months ago
  • 1 point

Some suggestions:

I find it painful to have a bunch of small logical drives, since you will constantly have to juggle files around. If you're buying parts afresh, I would recommend getting a single SSD for OS and files; I don't see why they have to be on separate physical drives.

One can take this further by combining the SSD and bulk storage HDD into a single cached logical volume; ideally the system will cache recently-used data on the SSD and it will perform nearly as well as a raw SSD. On Linux, two options for this are bcache and lvmcache. I'm less familiar with Windows, but one option I'm aware of is AMD's StoreMI.