add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Cooler for Ryzen 1700X

epiktek
  • 30 months ago

My motherboard is X370-f Strix, and I'm planning on getting the NZXT S340 Elite case.

Wondering if there are any suggestions for coolers. I'm currently leaning on Noctua U12S SE-AM4, which is compatible with my case, although I'm not sure if it's compatible with the board... also I keep hearing it's fugly.

I'm a newb so I'm just considering a simple air cooler.

Comments

• 30 months ago
  • 1 point

I'm a fan of the Cryorig H7. Looks nice and cools well. Also you can get it for $28.90 right now on Newegg. https://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboDealDetails.aspx?ItemList=Combo.3704728

• 30 months ago
  • 1 point

It certainly looks nice, and I think it'll go nicely with the NZXT S340 Elite case in white. But are you sure it could handle 1700X? There's a model above H7 called Quad Lumi. It has one extra heat pipe (4 total), but even then, it doesn't seem clear.

There doesn't seem to be a lot of documentation about Quad Lumi. The people who've reviewed it seem more concerned with the RGB aesthetics, than the actually functionality of the cooling aspect. One guy says he'd recommend it up to Ryzen 1600. Hmm.

[comment deleted by staff]
  • 30 months ago
  • 1 point

Unfortunately, I spoke to someone who's tried with the H7 Quad Lumi, which has an extra heat pipe over the H7, and he said it struggles and temps exceed 80C.

The only thing that's recommended is the D15 Noctua, which I hear barely fits in the NZXT 340 case. Unfortunately, the non-UPS-colored R1 Universal however does not.