add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Gaming Cpu cooler for i5 6600k (planning 4ghz oc)

Daveyrappy
  • 43 months ago

This is my first time building a pc. I don't want to overclock much just to get extra umph in the system. However I've hit a wall regarding a performing air cooler for long gaming sessions. I've read stories of aio coolers leaking, and i dont want that.

I added the dark rock tf because ofbsize restrictions but i camr make sense of performances with fans

My build

Any input will be appreciated

Comments

• 43 months ago
  • 1 point

That fan isn't good and isn't needed so I would drop it. You have plenty of room for a tower style cooler so that cooler makes no sense to get. Also Evga cards are currently having issues with them not cooling the VRAM properly so I would get another model

For the cooler I would get a Scythe Fuma, its the best HSF/"air cooler" on the market and is cheaper than your cooler. Its better than just about all 240MM AIO coolers minus the EK Predator. As you can overclock much farther than 4Ghz unless you have really bad luck.

• 43 months ago
  • 1 point

Thanks for recommending the fan, i'm new ti this and i dont know if i can oc more than 4ghz total noob building pc.

I've heard rave reviews on newegg and tests on the card on youtube. Pardon but i'll stick with evga

• 43 months ago
  • 1 point

i dont know if i can oc more than 4ghz total noob building pc.

Unless you get really bad luck you can go higher, most will top off around 4.6Ghz and some can do even higher than that.